Another Side of Black History: a Black Socialist Perspective, Feb. 28

Sunday, February 28, 2021 at 5 PM EST

2 p.m. Pacific / 4 p.m. Central / 5 p.m. Eastern

Register here: https://tinyurl.com/51d8345f

Featuring REV. ANNIE CHAMBERS, former Black Panther and member of the Socialist Unity Party
and DR. ROBERT BIRT, PhD in philosophy at Bowie State University

They will discuss the systemic issues that continue today in our struggle for Black liberation.

Plus: Exposing our real history

A major film highlighting the life of Chairman Fred Hampton of the Black Panther Party reminds us of the many struggles and peoples essential to the fight for Black liberation in the U.S. Most of them have been systematically erased from our history, along with the erasure of the reality of the many Black political prisoners still in prison.

We will be highlighting those figures left out of many discussions of Black History, including Chairman Fred, with a discussion of the film “Judas and the Black Messiah,” with clips from the movie.

The discussion will be opened up by:

LARRY HALES, longtime activist and organizer around workers’ struggles and the fight for Black liberation.

GLORIA VERDIEU, Socialist Unity Party member and longtime organizer in the struggle to free Mumia Abu-Jamal.

Presented by the Black Caucus of the Socialist Unity Party

Register here: https://tinyurl.com/51d8345f